About Us

The Caledon Hills Bruce Trail Club is one of nine member clubs that form the Bruce Trail Conservancy. The mission of the Bruce Trail Conservancy and of the Caledon Hills Bruce Trail Club is to establish a conservation corridor containing a public footpath along the Niagara Escarpment, in order to protect its natural ecosystems and to promote environmentally responsible public access to this UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve.

The mission of the BTC is to secure the Trail, that is, to get the Trail off privately-owned lands and on to public conservation lands or lands owned or managed by the BTC. Approximately 50% of the Trail is currently secured. The Caledon Hills BTC plays an important part in this agenda; currently, our Club has 15 BTC owned or managed conservation lands and easements in our section, and new lands are continually being added. Conservation properties are managed by volunteer Land Stewards whose activities are coordinated by the Club Land Steward Director.  Many BTC owned lands were formerly farmland and our aim is to restore these with tree plantings and removal of invasive alien species where possible. Thus, in the long term we envisage the Bruce Trail located on natural or restored Escarpment lands along its entire length from Niagara to Tobermory. If you are interested in becoming a Land Steward, please contact our Volunteer Coordinator Colleen Darrell at volunteer at caledonbrucetrail dot org or Land Steward Director Gary Hall at garyhall@rogers.com.

The Caledon Hills Bruce Trail Club is responsible for the care and maintenance of over seventy kilometers of main trail and almost forty kilometers of side trails within the Caledon Hills section of the Bruce Trail.

The club offers various hiking opportunities either independently or group hikes on most weekends, on Tuesdays and alternate Fridays.  As well, there is the annual club end to end featuring the fall colours on Thanksgiving weekend.

Membership in the club offers you the opportunity to meet like-minded people who enjoy the outdoors, enjoy hiking and enjoy forging new friendships. More importantly, your membership supports our ongoing mission of securing the conservation corridor along the Niagara Escarpment for future generations to enjoy.

We invite you to explore our website. Get to know the Club and all the benefits that membership offers!